On One-on-One Interaction between Parents and Their Kids

Once upon a day, when I was riding my automatic scooter, I saw a mother and her little son sitting side by side on the sidewalk. At a very rapid motion, I could only catch a glimpse at them, but I try to break it down for you.

The two was looking up at the clear morning sky. Quite in anticipation, I might say. Then, the mother raised her hand and pointed her finger at something in the sky. I couldn’t turn my head and look at what she was pointing at, but I was sure that they were looking at a plane, for I could hear its sound.

It happened so fast but the view was clear: a mother and her son, watching a plane hovering above them. As I passed them by, I could see that the mother put her non-raised hand around the boy as he leaned closely on her, looking safe and all.

Witnessing this, I smiled. And then I cried.

And I never forget the moment since.

I never did.

***

Couple weeks ago, my friend had her wedding at a hall located in our city’s aviation center (that’s also an airport). The hall sat closely next to an airfield and when it was time for the bride and the groom to change their costumes, I took a stroll around the hall’s parking lot where you could clearly see the airfield and the planes landing and taking off, attracting bored wedding attendants like me. I brought my Yashica with me, just in case.

There were trees around, giving cool atmosphere for the cloudy yet warm weather that day. The wind breeze played with my hair and lightly stroke my face as I approached the fence separating the parking lot from the airfield.

Then I saw the scene again, but the casts were a father and his son.

They were on the other side of the fence, talking to each other. I guessed the huge hole in the bottom of the fence allowed them to trespass. Their conversation was inaudible to me but I guessed that they were talking about planes as I saw the father pointed his finger at the row of planes parked at the airport apron visible from where they stood. The boy nodded along as he listened to his father. Sometimes, it was the other way around: the boy pointing finger at the planes while the father nodding his head.

For several minutes, I only stood still behind them, struck by the sight my eyes beholding. I didn’t believe that I had a chance to witness it again. After a while, I took a single shot, turned my back and got back to the larger human ritual with a nice take away from the littler one.

This is what the scene was like seen through my eyes.

000010

I know the picture’s not great whatsoever but, as usual, I take pictures mainly for the sake of my own pleasure and in this case as a reminder. I need to remember. As cruel and ugly as the world gets, there is still beauty. It exists everywhere (if you look carefully).

It exists in the way parents hold their kids and in the way the kids look up to their parents.

This kind of thing sometimes makes life worthwhile.

Photo info: Yashica FX-3 Super 2000 X expired Fuji Superia 200

Published by

Citra Saraswati

I'm a bit into analog photography.

Have your say

